Ex-Presidents Obasanjo, Goodluck Jonathan Absent At The Buhari’s 2019 Inauguration


Ex-Presidents Olusegun Obasanjo, Goodluck Jonathan are absent at Eagle Square, Abuja, for President Muhammadu Buhari and Vice-President Yemi Osinbajo inauguration into office for their second term.

During the 2019 election, the former presidents; Olusegun Obasanjo, Goodluck Jonathan had endorsed Atiku Abubkar, presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

The oath of office has been adminstered on Buhari and Osinbajo by Ibrahim Muhammad, acting chief justice of Nigeria (CJN), with their wives standing beside them.

On completion of the swearing in, there was lowering and hoisting of national and defence flags and 21 gun salutes. Afterwards, the president inspected the guard of honour and acknowledged cheers from the guests.

Present at the event includes former and serving governors, service chiefs, members of the diplomatic corps, members of the federal executive council, Senate President Bukola Saraki; Yakubu Dogara, speaker of the house of representatives, Boss Mustapha, secretary to the government of the federation, among others.

Adams Oshiomhole, national chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu, a national leader of the ruling party, were also present.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here